Just another WordPress.com site

Retail Update: Is it odd to love your job?

So I’ve told you that I’m now a sales associate for the amazing retail chain H&M! And I gotta tell you, I couldn’t be happier.

Honestly, I thought that I wasn’t going to get the job when I applied, since I feel H&M has more of a professional name to it than say, American Eagle or Forever21 (then again, my resume is pretty nifty). But, I was wrong. Thank you H&M for taking me on.

I’ve been there about a month now and so I know just about everything that I need to know in order to do my day to day activities while clocked in. Of course I still need help every once in a while when someone wants to pay with a travelers check, when someone needs help finding a specific item, or when a coworker asks me to call another store to see if they have an item in stock or in a different size (which is actually really annoying to do, and I try to avoid making phone calls). Generally speaking, I can really see myself growing there and staying there for years. What make me the happiest, in the one month that I’ve worked there, my style has started to change. My new philosophy is to just enjoy fashion, not worry about what looks good or whats in and out. Fashion is supposed to be fun!

Anyways, I’m also so happy that my coworkers are friendly. Sure there are a few who haven’t really said anything to me or introduced themselves, but the majority has :DDDD I can really see myself making a few friends, and I think I’ve already made a few. You see, I can’t work somewhere where there’s no interaction between coworkers (like the McDonald’s down the street where the workers yell and scream at each other and even their bosses).

Also, the hours you get are fantastic. Normally at Subway (where I’ve worked for 4 years) you tend to only get like 12 to 15 hours…20 if your really lucky. However at H&M, I’m racking up 27 to 32 hours a week! Can you say “Payday!” It is sort of tireding to work 8-9 hour shifts like 4 days a week, but I’m getting used to it. And like I said “Payday!” I can fin ally make enough on a check to pay my payments, save for an apartment, and shop till I drop. I’ve already bought like $200 worth of clothes there (gotta take advantage of that 25% employee discount).

All I can say is that I’m loving my job. I don’t want to count my chickens before they hatch, but it’s only going to get better from here. I can’t wait to share with you guys my hauls and also info about the H&M The Very Best of Versace collection (even though its over). Talk to you soon!

Image from Google
Leave a Reply

